This is THE year!

This is THE year! 2014. The year we talked about for so many years and it’s finally here… the year my oldest will turn 18 right after I turn 40. The year my youngest baby turns 13 and I have FIVE teenagers in my house! (AKA the year I threatened I’d be moving out! LOL) The year my husband and I will have been married 20 years. HOW did it come so fast????

I think this will be a very busy year with celebrations and life moments but I also want it to be a year of intentions. I don’t want to just make New Year’s resolutions – I want to keep them. I don’t want to just resolve to want to do something – I want to plan HOW I will do it. I have a few resolutions in mind, but nothing solid yet because before I write it down I want to plan it out and write that down, too. So I’ll start with a few here and would love to have you add yours, too! I’d love to hear what is important to you!

I have been working on my health this past year specifically and plan to continue to do so. I want to lose those stubborn pounds that apparently are lonely and don’t want to leave me! I want to be even more purposeful about this – even though I did do a lot this last year. I turn 40 in May and want to lose ALL those pounds by then. I plan to keep drinking…. Lots of water. I plan to finally find a dr. and talk about my health with them. I will keep exercising and adding in even more during the week. Since my husband’s unpaid furlough I’ve made a concerted effort to cook almost all our meals at home – and make them healthy. I will keep that up. It saves us money and we are healthier because of it as well. It’s also been fun to take yummy unhealthy recipes and figure out ways to make them healthy and still keep the yum!

I want to focus even more on paying off our home equity loan. I hate being in debt. We’ve lived without it for so long and now we have a couple of things we have to pay off and I am determined to do so quickly. Water heater will be paid off by the end of March. Car loan is a 5 yr. loan and I’d like to figure out how to make that 2 instead.

I want to push myself to do new things and grow. Last year I went to New York on a missions trip – and LOVED it! I don’t know that I can go again on one this year, but would love to do so. In the meantime, I have been enjoying having my own quiet time each morning before my kiddos get up. I intend to keep that up. While I am growing spiritually, I also want to grow as a woman. I want to be more confident in myself so I intend to keep pushing myself to do things that make me uncomfortable. I’ve started a bucket list of things I’d like to do and have slowly been working on doing them. I truly enjoyed John Ortberg’s book If You Want to Walk on Water, You Have to Get Out of the Boat. In it he talks about fear being something we should be okay with feeling. That those times we truly step out in faith are the times we often grow the most. I am trying to do that.

So there’s a few of my resolutions. What are yours? I love that a new year can be a time of starting fresh. I feel the same way about fall, but there’s something about starting each year with a goal. Each day is a new day – a clean slate, a breath of fresh air. I love that God gives us this! We all have days that are hard (even months and years!) but He tells us joy comes in the morning(Psalm 30:5b), and His mercies are new every morning(Lamentations 3:22-23). May today be the start of something new and encouraging for you! Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

